Banana Bread and Awareness

I have a new cookbook!

I love cookbooks. I enjoy sitting down with a cookbook (or a stack of them) and a cup of tea, browsing recipes, looking at the pictures, learning about different foods and how to prepare them.

I’d seen the book before. Heard of it and the bakery. Picked it up in stores, quickly leafed through it, and put it back.

On a recent trip to Anthropologie, I cracked open a copy of Babycakes. I can’t resist cupcake pictures.

As I read the recipes and side notes, I found myself thinking wow, that’s such a good idea, I hope I can remember that/ find it somewhere. See, usually I find my gluten-free recipes online, or use cookbooks I already have and adapt the recipe myself.

Then I thought-why not just buy it? After all, despite my love of cookbooks, I don’t actually own any gluten-free ones. I decided that it was about time I had one, and bought it. Along with some cute new jeans.

And I’m so glad I did.

I was torn between making the famous banana bread or the chocolate chip cookies first. So I compromised by adding chocolate chips to the banana bread.

I also decided to add a sprinkle of walnuts on top. Most of the recipes in the book are nut-free, (except for coconut), for allergy reasons, I’d assume.

Wow. This was amazing. There are tons of bananas in this bread, eliminating the need for egg replacer and making the bread very moist and rich. Everyone who tasted it agreed, and was surprised to learn that it was gluten-free and vegan.

It’s also low in sugar (without the chocolate chips!), and high in protein and fiber.

My only complaint was that it was a bit heavy on the chocolate- the recipe suggested adding 1 cup; I added a little less than that. Next time, I’ll probably reduce the amount to 1/2 a cup, or leave them out altogether. I’ll also fold the walnuts into the batter, though they did make for a nice presentation on top.

I can’t wait to try the other recipes in this book! Results will be shared of course.

On another note…

May is National Celiac Disease Awareness Month.

Ok, so why do I care?

I was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease (also called Celiac Sprue), an auto-immune disorder caused by an inability to tolerate the protein gluten-found in wheat, rye, and barley.

We’re talking very recent- I actually began eating gluten-free (and blogging about it!) several months before receiving an official diagnosis.

People are often surprised when I tell them I didn’t know I was a Celiac until I was 23 years old. However, many people with the disorder don’t learn they have it until much later in life-  if at all. In fact, 95% of people with Celiac Disease don’t know they have it.

Celiac disease is not the same as a food allergy, even a wheat allergy. It is an inherited immune disorder, in which the gluten protein damages the intestinal lining, causing malabsorption-which leads to a host of other health problems. In fact, in many people with the disease, GI symptoms are not present, and malabsorption symptoms are more noticeable-such as anemia and fatigue. Left untreated, celiac disease can have severe long-term consequences. Even a very small amount of the gluten protein can cause damage, even if does not cause symptoms, which is why cross-contamination becomes such an issue.

In addition, gluten is found in much more than bread and pasta. It is added to soups, sauces, canned goods, even toiletry items like toothpaste and lip balm, and prescription and non-prescription medications. Currently, the FDA does not require manufactures to include gluten in labels. Things are improving, but they could be better!

For information about celiac disease and symptoms, click here!

5 responses to “Banana Bread and Awareness

  1. I’ve been wondering about the Babycakes cookbook, having never been to the bakery and seeing rather inconsistent reviews on Amazon. But your banana bread looks amazing, and your comments on its natural sweetness and texture are very persuasive! I’m looking forward to reading your next post about Babycakes recipes!

    • Thank you! The cookbook isn’t perfect, but it does have some really inventive recipes that I haven’t seen anywhere else. The banana bread really was as good as it looks! I’ll definitely be trying out more of the recipes soon!

  2. oh wow! im so glad u found my blog and ur story is so similar to mine! this is awesome. i just subscribed so i’ll be back here for sure!! ❤ xoxo

  3. I love Anthropologie and I’m gluten-free too! Nice to meet someone with similar interets.

    Your banana bread looks fantastic!!

Leave a comment